X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Into the fray

Firstly, hello to everyone on here, hope you are doing well. I have been floating around this forum for the last month or so in looking for some answers or reassurance, and now I am joining up as I am waiting for my first scan, recommend by my GP. (I am shameful to admit that even though I am a programmer, I struggled to work out how to post on here, so I am now reconsidering my career choice!)

I think it started over Christmas just been, I noticed a twinge down south, to the right, but it didnít actually happen again. I regularly do checks and I noticed that the right one just felt a little different, like it had dried up and stiffened slightly. So then started 3/4 weeks of comparing it to the left, prodding it, squeezing it for firmness, comparing it to the left even more, of course I started to get more pain in that region, and so forth. On odd occasions I was certain that it was the same firmness as the left, but couldnít be sure. Between the start of Jan and now Iíve prodded it a few thousand times Iím sure. Went to the doctor yesterday who was also unsure, and suggested an US to put his mind at rest and mine, he didnít feel it was probably anything too nasty, but because of my age (28) wanted to check.

Itís the night before and my US is at 9 tomorrow morning, and I am terrified. I feel like the old normal has left me and I should prepare for the new normal, I am also scared that perhaps I didnít catch it early, perhaps Iíll be that small percentage that has the most aggressive form that doesnít react to treatment, or that my back is now aching and it is spread. Iím not sure what I aim to get out of writing this, just wanted to write. Thank you for reading.

No worries on the aim mate and sometimes just the writing of your thoughts help make the situation better. The forums are old technology for certain but full of knowledge so they are what they are unfortunately.