Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introduction & the story thus far

Hi Everyone,

First off, I want to thank you all for contributing to this site, it has been immensely helpful to me the past few weeks!
    My name is Drew and I'm a newbie uniballer. I work for a world renowned cancer research foundation in Seattle (though my job is totally unrelated to cancer), and am generally pretty comfortable with dealing with cancers of all sorts. Here is where I'm at today:

Just before thanksgiving my Mother in law was diagnosed with breast cancer and scheduled a lumpectomy, followed by chemo etc. Being so comfortable around cancer, I committed myself to being her cancer ally, and going to all of the appointments and such. On the day of her surgery, which is an 8 hour wait at the hospital, I noticed a lump on my right testicle while showering. I didn't feel the testicle with my hand, I could feel the difference when water ran over it, it was that sensitive.
    Now for some back story, I have had an ultrasound done a few years ago on the left testicle when I felt a lump, that turned out to be nothing, just a hydrocele or something, it went away. However, when I had that u/s the radiologist pointed out to me that I had tiny calcifications all throughout the right ball, and basically told me I was a ticking cancer time bomb, so be sure to get an ultrasound done very 3 months. Well, that u/s cost me $1000 out of pocket, so naturally I declined to schedule the followups, and rather just check the boys (then) religiously for changes.

So while I'm waiting at the hospital for MIL in surgery, I thought "I wonder if I can get someone here to check this lump out super quick and be really efficient?".