X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5 Months Clear - And a New Job?

I'm a long-time visitor of this site and a cancer survivor. I finally have decided to take the time to register my account so that I can respond to questions that I see posted on here which are relevant to my experience. I was diagnosed with Stage II Non-Seminoma cancer last summer following my college graduation.

But now I have a situational question that I would like to pose to anybody with insight or experience in changing jobs after treatment has ended. I have worked at a student apartment complex for the past 7 years now. It was very handy while I was a student, but even though I have benefits via AETNA, this is just a job. I don't see it going anywhere fast. The good thing was that they were very flexible with me during my treatment and worked around my schedule so that I could still work.

That being said, I have secured a job offer in public works within the city that I live. The pay is similar but the benefits and work schedule are much more attractive to me. I also just feel that it's time for a change and I think that this new job can potentially turn into a career. The new job utilizes Blue Cross Blue Shield for their employees. After doing some quick searching, I read some articles which made mention that BCBS had sent out letter at one point to Cancer patients explaining that some of their meds will become very expensive. Although I'm 5 months out of my 3xBEP and have received the "all clear", I worry about recurrence and how a new employer and insurance company might handle a newer employee in a physically demanding job that needs to seek treatment. (Worst case scenario, I know.)