Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smoking Marijuana During Chemo

Hey all,

Just testing the waters here. I'm in search of respectable, educated opinions.

Before I get into it, let me premise this post:
    I'm 22 years old. I have a Bachelors in Finance and Economics from a top business school in the U.S. I've been around the academic block, and I have done plenty of research on this topic. I occasionally use marijuana but no more than a handful of times per year. I am not a liberal, nor a conservative, I am a moderate. That being said:

My dad approached me and informed me that he received some home-grown marijuana from a friend, in the case that I wanted some during my chemo treatment. I came home yesterday, a bit fuzzy, with slight nausea and minimal appetite. I smoked a joint, and you know what: I felt like a thousand bucks. I was walking around my garden, listening to light music on my back porch sharing laughs with my parents. I had energy. I also had a great appetite. Any inclination of nausea had subsided.

My question to the board is, has anyone smoked pot during chemo and felt postivive results as I did?

I don't need to be preached to. I understand the nature of the toxicity of Bleomycin and its potentially harmful lung affects (in older adults). I understand that inhaling smoke is a negative portion of the process, however, I also understand that it has no correlation with the type of cancer I currently have nor would it interfere with it.

This topic is always quickly elevated. I think this question is best suited for you and your medical team. I would definately tell your Onc you are occasionally smoking because MJ can cause a rise in HCG and Estrogen. both of which you probably want to keep low as possible.