X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to expect 1 round of BEP

Hi all. My husband is having one round of BEP beginning Monday. The doctors (Sloan) are acting like its no big deal. But I'm reading so many scary things- heart rates dropping to a scary low, fevers, neutropenia.... I'm so apprehensive for him. We have twin toddlers that are in daycare which also has me nervous. I'm an elementary school teacher as well... Bringing germs home
    Everyday. Can anyone give me some
    Helpful info? I plan to take a
    Few days off to go with him. But, he thinks he can drive himself
    The other days and refuses to
    Ask family to join him because he has to "get work done". Is this safe? Thanks for any insight.

Selection bias... I believe generally people handle it well. The reason you see stories here is because the people that are doing well typically don't seek out this type of information!

I would suggest he get a ride, but other than that he should handle it OK. I always felt a little groggy and out of it for the rest of the day after chemo. But honestly when actually at the chemo center I would rather chill there and bum around on my laptop and/or watch a movie than try to chat with friends or family. My wife took me to every chemo session, and I had 4xEP. She worked on her laptop or would go into the office for a couple hours while I was at the infusion center.
    6/5/15: bHCG 27,AFP 8.66, LDH 361, 5.6cm lymph node - Stage IIC
    6/16/15: Left I/O 85% EC, 10% chorio, 5% yolk sac opinion 2 (mayo) 90% EC, 10% yolk sac
    7/7/15: bHCG 56, AFP 42, LDH 322
    7/13/15 - 9/18/15: 4xEP
    10/1/15: bloodwork normal, ct scan shows 2 lymph nodes 1.0cm
    10/26/15: 2nd opinion on CT results - lymph nodes normal. Surveillance!
    4/6/16: 1.7cm X 1.5cm lymph node found with markers normal.
    4/20/16: RPLND @ IU - teratoma only!
    9/18/2017 all clears up to this date!

Comment