X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New diagnosis, conflicted next step!

I'm new to TC. Just wanted to thank everyone for their contributions here! My diagnosis has been a bit easier thanks to everyone and their sharings.

I have done alot of research since my recent I/O and I am stuck between just doing surveillance and doing 1 or 2 rounds of BEP.

There seems to be a new push towards active surveillance vs adjuvant RPLND/chemo.

Im "high risk" due to the 50% Embryonal component, however I have no lymphatic/vascular invasion.

CT of chest down was all clear. AFP levels started at 159 and have dropped to 28 since my last blood test (as expected).

I understand there is new info linking embryonal and LVI for high risk. However my embryonal component is very close to the cusp of high vs low risk at 50%

In other words, I'm torn between subjecting myself to possibly unnecessary chemo, or possibly needing 4 doses of chemo down the road. Any thoughts or advice is greatly appreciated!
    November 5th noticed huge/heavy Right Testicle.
    AFP 159
    November 8th 2013 - Right I\O
    November 13th CT Pelvis AB and Chest negative
    AFP 56 NO lymphatic/vascular invasion.
    Stage 1a
    High Risk 50% Embryonal Carcinoma, 40% Teratoma, 10% yok sak.
    Nov 21st AFP 28- Thinking 1 cycle adjuvant BEP
    Currently Torn between surveillance and 1 cycle of BEP!
    Much thanks to everyone in this forum!

Has your AFP normalized (single digits)? It looks like it is on track to normalize, if so I think you are a good candidate for surveillance otherwise you are looking at 2 or 3 cycles of BEP.
    Tony

Diagnosed 4/12/12
    AFP 31, HCG 32
    I/O 4/25/12
    Nonseminoma Stage 1S
    Embryonal Carcinoma 95%, Yolk Sac 5%
    Lymphatic Invasion, Markers did not normalize
    BEPx3 Finished 8/5/12
    Post Chemo APF 2 HCG Undetectable

Comment

Hi there,