X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just found out yesterday.... surgery friday.... anxiety through the roof

Things had been going so well. I had a newborn daughter 7 weeks ago, and I got married last month... after 3 years of intense schooling I graduated in May from nursing school and I started my new dream job in the Intensive Care Unit of a local hospital a week and a half ago. Things couldn't be looking better... until I noticed the change in my right testis. We were actually on vacation at the time, and one night while in bed I noticed a hardness on righty. It was really a "lump", but one section of the ball was almost rock hard. It was a startling change! I immediately started to panic a little, and went onto Dr. Google and started researching. I found this site, during my search, and that has been helpful as well. After looking around, I decided my first step would be to contact a urologist. Wednesday morning last week (7/25/2018) I called the hospital to make a urology appointment, but I was told I needed a referral first. I called my PCP, who said they could get me in to the doc in about 2 weeks. That was not going to fly. So I zipped on down to the local urgent care center, and they said they noticed something as well, and gave me the referral, but mentioned it could take a few days to get anything scheduled. Thursday morning I get a call (that was quick!) to set up my appointment. I was told the urologist had about a 2-3 week wait for new patients... nothing I can do about that. Luckily enough however, that same afternoon I get another call from the scheduler who said that they had a cancellation, so could I come in the next day at 1030am? I was going to be in orientation at the hospital at the time, but I said yes anyway. I knew I could work in out with my trainer the next day, which I did. Friday 1030. Anxiety levels are going through the roof. BP elevated to 140/92, most likely nerves. The doc comes in and