Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New and looking for similar experiences

Hi All,

Not the terms I usually want to meet people under, but here we are. A quick history:
    3/15 - Pain in the area. It's swollen. Trip to the ER.
    3/17 - "You have cancer." 97% embryonal carcinoma, choriocarcinoma 3%. lymphovascual invasion present. Chest xray negative, abdominal CT negative. Spermatic cord clean.
    3/27 - Right I/O
    4/10 - tumor markers plummet
    4/17 - AFP continues to plummet, HCG from 10 to 12.

So the obvious concern is that my HCG went up. Urologist said it could be a false positive from the test, or that I'm just naturally producing more. My 4/24 blood test will confirm that. This definitely pushes back the L-RPLND I was going to have.

So I have two possible scenarios, and questions regarding both.

1. Chemo. I haven't been referred to oncology and my urologist and I haven't even really discussed it. I have no experience with chemo. I hear that its "come a long way" but I'm still clueless. How long is a round of chemo? What can I expect from the type of chemo (BEP, I'm reading) I'd be receiving? Outside of fertility concerns, what are long-term affects I should know of?