Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High Risk/Low Risk

Hi,

It appears my treatment course will be deciding between high risk low risk surveillance.

I’m gettin ahead of myself but theoretically I can’t have node involvement since my pathology was with clear margins and no LVI. Dr Einhorn echoed in this, however still pending the imaging.

However, I have a 1.2cm 100%EC contained to the testes, clear margins, LVI -. Hcg 21 and afp43 with LDH 114. Hopefully this will be a stage 1 and all I’ll have to do is chose between surveillance or treatment BEPx1.

I’m a doctor in first year of residency so I have access to a lot of literature but, I’ve been lurking here and there is a lot of knowledge here that is invaluable and trumps everything I know.

Do you guys have any input towards this?
    Have any literature that talks about risk stratisficaton? I find a lot of conflicting info, most say LVI alone as a risk factor, others use EC as well. Einhorn said I have a 70% cure rates instead of 80% due to EC.

I’m just asking this because I’m leaning towards BEPx1. I cannot deal with the anxiety of having a close to 40% relapse rate, yet alone 50.
    Do you guys know anything about the side effect profile (CIPN or tinnitus) with 1 cycle? Also, do you Guys know any objective data about chemo resistance after 1 cycle and reoccurrence?

I was where you were when I first got diagnosed with TC - I had LVI however, making me stage 1B right away. At the time, I had pored over lots of literature, and most concluded that LVI was the highest contributor to an increased probability of recurrence (~45%). Pure embroynal also contributed, but they didn’t provide a breakdown of that specifically. For you, I’d say the probability was about 20%, in line with what Einhorn has said.