Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hey Everyone. Relapse just diagnosed, now what?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hey Everyone. Relapse just diagnosed, now what?

Hi everyone, this is my first time stumbling across this website. Here's what's been going on.

My brother diagnosed with Stage IB left side non-seminoma TC (60non-40sem) in October 2009. He had an L-RPLND in December and has been free and clear since then.

I was diagnosed with Stage IB left side non-seminoma TC (80-20) in early November 2009. I had my L-RPLND in February. The biopsy of the lymph nodes indicated that cancer had not spread to the lymphs. The only initial complication with that has been some tingling in my left leg and retrograde ejaculation. The retrograde ejaculation has progressed from nothing at all to a few small drops, to a decent amount but I'm still not firing with a full clip and my leg still tingles.

In mid-May I went in for my first chest x-ray. That was Friday 5/14. That evening my urologist called me to inform me that I needed a CT scan, because something didn't look good on my x-ray. At that moment I knew what the CT was going to show and I was right. Cancer has metastasized in my lung, about a 2cm mass. I received confirmation of that this afternoon.

Prior to the initial diagnosis and up through today I have been a marijuana user, what I would qualify as moderate - heavy use. I've smoked for the last 6 years at least once a day, although for the past year, most of that smoking has been vaporizing. Other than that and weekly consumption of alcohol I have lead a healthy lifestyle.

So now for the questions.

1. Does anyone know what kind of chemo-therapy I'm likely to receive (based on your experience) and how long it will last?